EmailDiscussions.com  

Go Back   EmailDiscussions.com > Discussions about Email Services > Email Comments, Questions and Miscellaneous
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts
Stay in touch wirelessly

Email Comments, Questions and Miscellaneous Share your opinion of the email service you're using. Post general email questions and discussions that don't fit elsewhere.

Old 11 May 2009, 02:53 AM   #1
OxfordComma

Lavabit NOW - your current experience

Hello everyone,

I'm looking to leave the corporate monstrosity that is gmail behind. It's cavalier attitude towards privacy is too much for me, and I've come across Lavabit, which promises to make my emails unreadable, even to those at the company.

I've tried to understand the explanation of how they do this on their website, but in all honesty I'm a layman and I need it spelling out in layman's terms for me. Everything I've read in their explanations about my emails staying unreadable seems to rely on lavabit not knowing my password, but surely they have this on a server somewhere to check it when I log in? So here's the ultimate question: can lavabit, with their system designed as it now, decrypt my emails and read them? If not, why not?

But aside from this, what I'm really looking for is for your latest experience of using them. I'm thinking about paying for an account with them - in order to get the privacy they offer with the asynchronous feature - but I've read some extremely contradictory things about them in threads on this site.

Some say they're gods, some say their support is complete rubbish. More importantly these threads are old, so what I want to know is what's your recent experience of them? Given my motivations, is it a good idea me going for one of their paid accounts?

Anything you can offer will be appreciated.

Many thanks,

OC
OxfordComma is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11 May 2009, 06:12 AM   #2
Berenburger
The "e" in e-mail

Quote:
Originally Posted by OxfordComma View Post