EmailDiscussions.com  

Go Back   EmailDiscussions.com > Email Service Provider-specific Forums > FastMail Forum
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Stay in touch wirelessly

FastMail Forum All posts relating to FastMail.FM should go here: suggestions, comments, requests for help, complaints, technical issues etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 Jun 2008, 02:14 AM   #1
eb743
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Question Using Mailto: on FireFox 3

Anyone there figure out how to set Fastmail as the Mailto: default on Firefox3?
eb743 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11 Jun 2008, 08:17 PM   #2
robmueller
Intergalactic Postmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 6,102

Representative of:
Fastmail.FM
Ah neat, looking up a bit, here's what to do. A little annoying that it's multi-step, but anyway...

1. Type "about:config" in the address bar
2. Search for allowRegisterFromDifferentHost, and it should find an entry called gecko.handlerService.allowRegisterFromDifferentHost
3. Right-click the entry and select Toggle to make it true (this opens a temporary security hole we close in step 7 below)
4. Ctrl-T to open a new tab
5. In the addressbar, enter:

Code:
javascript:window.navigator.registerProtocolHandler("mailto","http://www.fastmail.fm/mail/?MSignal=MC-FN**%s","FastMail")
6. It should popup something about "Add this handler?" Click the button to accept it. Close the tab.
7. Go back to the about:config tab, and toggle the setting again to false (this closes the temporary security hole)

That's it, mailto: links in Firefox should now go to FastMail.

To completely remove the handler if you ever want to, go to Tools -> Options -> Applications tab. Enter "mailto" in the search field. You'll see an entry that as "mailto" on the left, and a popup menu on the right. Select "Application details..." from the popup menu. You can Remove the FastMail handler there.

Rob
robmueller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Jun 2008, 10:15 PM   #3
eb743
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Wink

Rob, Thank you so much. Can't tell you how much I appreciate that help. This little bit of advice will allow me to seamlessly change from the dial-up I've been using these past years to a wireless modem w/o too much trouble.

EB
eb743 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jun 2008, 05:13 AM   #4
nricciardi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 133
I think this post should be made sticky or at least go into Fastmail's help.

Thank you very much for posting this.
nricciardi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jun 2008, 04:13 PM   #5
robmueller
Intergalactic Postmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 6,102

Representative of:
Fastmail.FM
Can someone add it to the wiki for the moment (wiki.fastmail.fm). I'll add it to the new help when I have a moment...

Rob
robmueller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jun 2008, 11:07 PM   #6
anotherJeremy
Essential Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 224
nice trick--thanks

Any way not to have to log in every time?
anotherJeremy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jun 2008, 04:47 AM   #7
Random832
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by anotherJeremy View Post
Any way not to have to log in every time?
I clicked the "long term (auto login)" checkbox when I logged in and then could use it without logging in every time. You can change "http" to "https" in the line rob gave to use https
Random832 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Jul 2008, 02:02 AM   #8
JRobert
Master of the @
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 1,561
Rob: Is there any way to get my username into that javascript string? I'm willing to (prefer to) login by hand typing my password but it would be handy to have the username pre-typed when the login page comes up.
JRobert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Jul 2008, 03:38 PM   #9
robmueller
Intergalactic Postmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 6,102

Representative of:
Fastmail.FM
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRobert View Post
Rob: Is there any way to get my username into that javascript string? I'm willing to (prefer to) login by hand typing my password but it would be handy to have the username pre-typed when the login page comes up.
No sorry, not at the moment.

Rob
robmueller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Jul 2008, 12:03 AM   #10
JRobert
Master of the @
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 1,561
Ah, well - still, it's very handy with 'Send Link...' for referring someone to a web page. Thanks!
JRobert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 Jul 2008, 04:40 AM   #11
henrico
Essential Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 429
Works fine. Thanks.
henrico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Sep 2008, 02:03 PM   #12
IanO
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 102
I just tried this out and it works. You get the Fastmail login.

I have another PC where I click on a mailto: link and it goes straight to compose, already logged in!

Now I do have Fastcheck on that PC and I vaguely remember this has something to do with it, but it still works even if I quit Fastcheck first.

Anyone know how this works?
IanO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Sep 2008, 08:58 AM   #13
IanO
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 102
I'll answer my own question:

Fastcheck sets itself as the Default mail client which means it sets up this registry key:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\mailto\shell\open\command = "C:\Program Files\FastCheck\FastCheck.exe" /C %1

Once you setup Fastcheck with your account information and it runs that command it automatically logs you in and goes to Compose with the to: address filled in (and the subject if there is one).

As I mentioned in the last post this still works even if Fastcheck is NOT running. So you could use Fastcheck for this even if you don't want to use it for it's normal function of notifying you of new email.
IanO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Sep 2008, 05:47 AM   #14
JamesHenderson
Essential Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oxford, England
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanO View Post
Fastcheck sets itself as the Default mail client which means it sets up this registry key:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\mailto\shell\open\command = "C:\Program Files\FastCheck\FastCheck.exe" /C %1

Once you setup Fastcheck with your account information and it runs that command it automatically logs you in and goes to Compose with the to: address filled in (and the subject if there is one).
I don't know why, but that doesn't work for me - perhaps because I upgraded to FF3 after installing fastcheck? I'll try reinstalling fastcheck

J.
JamesHenderson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Sep 2008, 01:13 AM   #15
JRobert
Master of the @
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 1,561
Chances are you'd only need to run Fastcheck and re-specify in the account settings that it (FC) should be the mailto: handler.
JRobert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 09:47 PM.

 

Copyright EmailDiscussions.com 1998-2013. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy