![]() |
WORTH A LOOK: Guide to Fax to Email and Email to Fax Services
Did you know you can now send and receive faxes via email? That's right, you don't even need a fax machine! Click here to compare online fax services. |
|
|||||||
| Early Warning... If an email service has closed down or changed the services it offers, or if there are indications it is about to do so, post about it here. |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 | ||
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
|
Youvegotpost.com is erasing all gmail messages
An important heads up for all of you.
freemail provider www.youvegotpost.com has been under a great deal of scrutiny from the online community these last few weeks. It was very unpleasant to watch - essentially, youvegotpost began a promotion campaign, providing some subscribers with a gigabyte of storage space in the hope that YGP would see a serious spike in subscriber rates. That they did, I would imagine, but they were also totally unprepared to deal with the load their servers would have to take. Here's where things get unfortunate. As people began to test the service, Greg Lloyd Smith, the operator of the site, began to delete accounts en masse, and openly read emails from people's private boxes. When people wrote to complain, his replies usually involved foul language, and immediate deletion of their account.(see the neowin.com back page forum for more) The long and short of it was that his site was pwn'd by an unknown group, and people let bygones be bygones. This is where it gets interesting. 1) Greg Lloyd Smith now has set up *another* freemail site (where his name, naturally, appears nowhere) called www.owmail.com, which (naturally) looks identical to youvegotpost.com. And, he's added some features in the TOC that most people won't notice, most importantly that he will ERASE any email sent to or from a gmail provider, and give no notice that the email was not delivered to either party. Anyway, lets leave that behind, for the moment. Quote:
Forget this one for a second, as well. Quote:
4) GLS then promotes the hack job sites with www.officialwire.com, a pseudo PR site. As of this posting, he does still list himself as Editor in Chief under the 'masthead' section, but expect him to hide this once people start asking what in the world he is doing. I believe that sites like youvegotpost and owmail are appalling, as most users do not read the TOC carefully enough to know that their rights are about to get trampled here. This becomes more problematic when it became obvious the Greg Lloyd Smith (using a number of fake aliases) began to openly read people's mail, and to simply not deliver email to certain urls. (Take a look at the Alexa reviews of youvegotpost, to get a feel of how upset people are). It gets worse when you realize that Greg Lloyd Smith has been sued under anti-racketeering statutes by amazon and lost, and that he tried to take a dot com public a few years ago, went bankrupt, and then tried to hold his lawyers responsible for the bankrupcy. I think that it is the responsibility of this community to know exactly who this guy is, the sites he runs, and to make a big time effort to make him abide by basic user responsible principles. |
||
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Intergalactic Postmaster
|
While people are complaining about gmail's privacy policy, owmail's TOS is worst than Gmail.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#3 | |
|
Cornerstone of the Community
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 896
|
owmail
Quote:
This new email is offering a 1gb of space im afraid the same will happen as with youvegotpost. ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Intergalactic Postmaster
|
Now I know they are link to officalwire. I always wondered why only this so call news website always sides with ygp all the time.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 | |
|
Cornerstone of the Community
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 896
|
Quote:
![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 | |
|
Intergalactic Postmaster
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Intergalactic Postmaster
|
This owmail.com is registered with a US address!! Unlike that youvegotpost.com is registered with a Malaysian and US address.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Cornerstone of the Community
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 735
|
This may all be true, but I find it very hard to believe that a person that has never posted on this board before, would join just to give us this information. How do we know where suntrader3 gets all this information? I know for a fact that anyone can post on the official wire site. And, these may be the same people that started all the trouble with the youve got post site to begin with. I did recognize a couple of the names.
Apparently nobody here had even heard of this new site....owmail. There was no discussion about this going on, and this newcomer just jumps in to blast it away. And, why do we care anyway? Did anybody here bring it up and ask for an opinion? |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 | |
|
Intergalactic Postmaster
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 | |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
|
Quote:
Heres the link - http://www-2.officialspin.com/main.p...ecent&rid=1667 As for your comment about whether people asked specifically about this site in previous posts, I'm a bit confused. Are you telling me that when people post new threads on this forum, that they are doing so at the express request of another member? If so, my apologies for speaking out of turn. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#11 | |
|
Intergalactic Postmaster
|
Quote:
Please feel free to post anything you find that isn't being post on this forum. This is certainly interesting informations. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 | |
|
Cornerstone of the Community
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 896
|
owmail
Quote:
the idea of this topic was a warning to be careful of this email because of how the tos was written. A bad email service should be reported .we have people on this forum that run great email services such as killer. And a bad service makes it hard for them on the net too.so people use a forum trying to report the good and the bad.thats how I found killers service and it is a very good service Last edited by davy51 : 12th July 2004 at 02:25 AM. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 | |
|
Intergalactic Postmaster
|
Re: owmail
Quote:
![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#14 | |
|
Cornerstone of the Community
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 896
|
Re: Re: owmail
Quote:
http://killer.ac.gs/ |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 | ||
|
The "e" in e-mail
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,098
|
Re: Youvegotpost.com is erasing all gmail messages
Quote:
BTW suntrader3, a tip: the next time you post a URL with a comma or fullstop after it, manually include it in a [url] container, like this: [url]www.emaildiscussions.com[/url]. That way, vBulletin won't automatically add a [url] container which mistakenly includes the punctuation, and thereby breaks the link. Welcome to the EMD forums; I don't know why SAS was down on you (in my experience she's not usually like that). |
||
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|