View Single Post
Old 12 Mar 2007, 04:24 PM   #4
Edwin
 Administrator 
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 3,112
I don't normally close accounts that have posts associated with them, because then those posts are left "orphaned" as they get attributed to "Guest" - all deleted users with posts have their posts attributed that way.

You're never going to get any email from the forum anyway, so there's really no need to close an account - it won't "free up" any of your time or resources.

A quirky alternative is to log in, go to the "Edit email & password" section of the "User CP" (user control panel) and enter a totally random new password, then cut and paste it into the 2nd password box and finally log out - you won't know the password (and neither will anyone else) so it's "as if" the account isn't available any more.
Edwin is offline   Reply With Quote