EmailDiscussions.com

EmailDiscussions.com (http://www.emaildiscussions.com/index.php)
-   FastMail Forum (http://www.emaildiscussions.com/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   cannot access over web..but desktop works (http://www.emaildiscussions.com/showthread.php?t=69927)

muppetandchums 13 Dec 2014 10:57 PM

cannot access over web..but desktop works

I've been using fastmail since 1997.
So today I try to log into my fastmail account over the web using chrome.
All the credentials are saved in LastPass; unchanged in many years. I've used them before.
Credentials fail.Repeatedly.
No reason given.

I go back to the desktop ...fire up Outlook 2010...all the fastmail emails are available. IMAP & SMTP work fine.
It works perfectly.

What is going on ?

M&C

janusz 13 Dec 2014 11:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by muppetandchums (Post 579675)
All the credentials are saved in LastPass; unchanged in many years

May be that's the reason? The login page is now fastmail.com, not fastmail.fm.

Berenburger 14 Dec 2014 06:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by muppetandchums (Post 579675)
I've been using fastmail since 1997.

FastMail started in 1999.

https://www.fastmail.com/help/legal/company.html
Quote:

FastMail was started by Rob Mueller and Jeremy Howard in 1999. We are an employee-owned, independent company located in Melbourne, Australia with servers at New York Internet in the USA and at Thor Data Centre in Iceland.

David 14 Dec 2014 06:58 AM

I remember opening a 'free' Fastmail account (before they went paid) - it was earlier than 1999 I believe.

BritTim 14 Dec 2014 10:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by David (Post 579692)
I remember opening a 'free' Fastmail account (before they went paid) - it was earlier than 1999 I believe.

It was still free when I joined in 2002. I rather doubt it was available to any except a close circle of family and friends before 1999.

n5bb 14 Dec 2014 11:59 AM